Press Releases

Suzanne Bone and Marianne Walker to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Apr 27, 2022


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | Suzanne Bone and Marianne Walker to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at Guelph Chamber's Guelph Awards of Excellence

Guelph, April 27, 2022:  On June 16, the Guelph Chamber of Commerce will welcome business and community leaders to celebrate the achievements of outstanding local businesses, organizations, and individuals at the 2022 Guelph Awards of Excellence. Suzanne Bone, CEO, The Foundation of Guelph General Hospital and Marianne Walker, President & CEO, Guelph General Hospital will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Linamar at the event.

“Suzanne and Marianne’s leadership, especially throughout the past two years is a true example of what the Lifetime Achievement award epitomizes,” says Shakiba Shayani, President & CEO of the Guelph Chamber of Commerce. “With Suzanne and Marianne both retiring this year, we are thrilled to have the opportunity to recognize and celebrate their decades of hard work, dedication, and community impact. Both Suzanne and Marianne exhibit remarkable vision, innovation, compassion, and commitment to the Guelph community.”

In addition to awarding the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Guelph Chamber will present awards in several other categories as part of the 2022 Chamber Business Awards.

The finalists for the 2022 Chamber Business Awards include:

Community Builder Award, Presented by Bell:

  • Kirtida Kitchen
  • Skyline Group of Companies
  • Guelph Neighbourhood Support Coalition

Emerging Business Award, Presented by Danby Appliances:

  • Fixed Gear
  • The Sage Soap Company
  • The Cabin Office Company

Innovation Award, Presented by the University of Guelph:

  • RWDI
  • The SEED

Customer Service Award, Presented by CN Rail:

  • HLB System Solutions
  • The Modern Bride
  • The Scented Market

Pandemic Pivot Award, Presented by City of Guelph Economic Development and Tourism:

  • Dixon’s Distillery
  • Danby Appliances
  • Northern Village
  • Spring Mill Distillery

Sustainability Award, Presented by TD Commercial Banking:

  • Co-operators
  • Highland Woodcraft
  • The Simple Knot

Difference Maker Award:

  • Children’s Foundation of Guelph & Wellington
  • Chalmers
  • Bisson Dentistry

Young Professional of the Year Award:

  • Diana Train, Innovation Guelph
  • Alex Fisher, Children's Foundation of Guelph Wellington
  • Blake DeLuca, RLB

Volunteer of the Year Award:

  • Anu Saxena
  • Rebecca McKinlay & Kyla Rowntree
  • Lynn Vanschaik

“Each of these finalists exemplify excellence and play an important role in the social and economic prosperity of the Guelph community,” added Shayani.

The Guelph Chamber will be celebrating their 195th anniversary this year, and plan to recognize and celebrate their growth and impact at the Guelph Awards of Excellence event.

This year’s Guelph Awards of Excellence will take place on June 16 at the Grand Guelph Banquet & Events Centre. For more information or to purchase tickets, please click here.